How does blocklist work?

Enabling visitor blocklist

Add visitors to the blocklist

Approving and denying the blocked visitors

Visitor Blocklist Notifications


How does blocklist work?

With Genea's Visitor Blocklist feature you can restrict unwanted guests from visiting your premises. If a person on your block list tries to walks-in or a teammate inadvertently invites them, you can get notified and can take quick action to approve or deny their visits.

Genea's Visitor Blocklist, in its simplest form, is a list of visitor names and visitor email addresses that you want to restrict from visiting your premises. A visitor’s full name and /or email address will be checked against the full names and email addresses of people on your block list when they are invited or walks-in. When a visitor matches someone on your block list, your property administrators will be alerted.

Enabling visitor blocklist

To enable the visitor blocklist, proceed with the below steps:

1. Navigate to Visitor Management > Security from your admin dashboard.

2. Under Visitor Screening > Blocklist, click "Enable".


3. Once enabled, you can start adding visitors to the blocklist.

Add visitors to the blocklist

1. Click "+Add" to add a visitor to the blocklist.

a. Enter the Visitor Name and Visitor Email address.


b. Visitors will be checked against the fields based on the “Matching Method for Blocklist” you select.

  • Match all of the above fields: Blocks the visitor if the entry matches exactly with both the visitor name AND email address in the blocklist
  • Match any of the above fields: Blocks the visitor if the entry matches exactly with either the visitor name OR email address in the blocklist.

Matching methods look for exact matching of individual fields, includes punctuation and the order of words; however, matching is not case sensitive.

Visitor Details

Blocklisted Entry

Matches with Matching Method: All?

Matches with Matching Method:
Any?

Visitor Name: Anna Williams

Visitor Email:
anna.williams@example.com

Visitor Name: Anna Williams

Visitor Email:
anna.williams@example.com

Yes

Yes

Visitor Name: Anna Williams

Visitor Email:
anna.williams@example.com

Visitor Name: Anna Warren

Visitor Email:
anna.williams@example.com

No

Yes

Email matches with the blocked visitor

Visitor Name: Anna Williams

Visitor Email:
anna.williams@example.com

Visitor Name: Anna Williams

Visitor Email:
anna.warren@example.com

No

Yes

Visitor name matches with the blocked visitor

Visitor Name: Anna Williams

Visitor Email:
anna.williams@example.com

Visitor Name: Anna williams

Visitor Email:
anna.warren@example.com

No

Yes

Visitor name matches with the blocked visitor. Matching is not case-sensitive.

Visitor Name: Anna Williams

Visitor Email:
anna.williams@example.com

Visitor Name: Anna Warren

Visitor Email:
anna.warren@example.com

No

No

Visitor Name: Anna O Williams

Visitor Email:
anna.williams@example.com

Visitor Name: Anna O' Williams

Visitor Email:
anna.williams@example.com

No

No

Visitor name does not match exactly. Missing punctuation.

Visitor Name: Anna Williams

Visitor Email:
anna.williams@example.com

Visitor Name: Anna williams

Visitor Email:
anna.williams@example.com

Yes

Yes

c. Enter the reason for blocking the visitor. Click "Save".

Approving and denying the blocked visitors

When any blocklisted visitor gets invited or walks-in, the invite gets listed under invitations with the status "In Review".

Members with admin, security, and front desk roles can either approve or deny the visit request from the web app or from their Genea mobile apps.

Approving and denying invited visitors:

When a blocklisted visitor invite is approved, they receive an invitation email and the process will continue normally through the check-in link received by the visitor through email. Invitation status now transits to "Invited".
More on different Invitation statues can be read here.

When the invite is denied by the admin, visitors will not receive an invitation email. The host will be notified that the invitation was canceled and that they can contact the administrator who denied the invite if they have questions.

Approving and denying walk-in visitors:

When a visitor walks-in and Genea finds the visitor be matched with blocklist entry, the visitor will be notified that they will receive an email with registration confirmation status at the end of the flow.

If the invite is approved, the visitor will receive an email with visit confirmation details, Genea prints the visitor’s badge and notifies the visitor’s host of their arrival.

If the invite is denied, the visitor will receive an email about the visit being canceled and the visitor’s host will also get a notification with the visit status.

Visitor Blocklist Notifications

If you are a system administrator, you can configure your Genea system to notify yourself or others when any visitors match with blocklist entry.

Notifications are currently available via email, however, you can also opt-in to these notifications via the Slack or Microsoft Teams integrations as well.

Follow the steps below to enable notifications via email.

How to Enable Visitor Blocklist Notifications:


IMPORTANT NOTE: Only system administrators will be able to configure system alerts. Front Desk, User Manager, and Security sub-admins will not have the ability to configure system alerts.

1) Click on the 'Alerts' tab within your Genea admin dashboard.

2) On the 'Alerts' page, scroll down to the 'Visitor Screening' section. You will be able to input which specific administrators or users should receive notification for 'When visitor matches to your block list.'

Sample Email Notification:


Notes

Visitor Blocklist is location-based you will need to "Enable" the feature in a specific location to be able to use it.

If you would like to learn more about Genea's Visitor Management feature, please send inquiries to acsupport@getgenea.com.

Did this answer your question?